Neon Nettle
© 2023 Neon Nettle

Subscribe to our mailing list

Advertise Contact About Us Our Writers T&C's Privacy Support Us © 2023 Neon Nettle All Rights Reserved.

Nancy Pelosi Wins Prestigious Award for ‘Political Courage’

Democratic House speakers awarded 2019 JFK Profile in Courage Award

 on 8th April 2019 @ 3.00pm
nancy pelosi was awarded the prestigious 2019 profile in courage award © press
Nancy Pelosi was awarded the prestigious 2019 Profile in Courage Award

Democratic House Speaker Nancy Pelosi has been awarded the 2019 Profile in Courage Award by the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation.

The award, given in honor of JFK, is awarded to those who purportedly show “political courage” during their lifetime, or for a particularly noteworthy incident.

Caroline Kennedy, the Honorary Foundation's president, called Speaker Pelosi “the most important woman in American political history,” CBS News reported.

“So, the courage that that takes, really, I think, makes her an example and an inspiration for generations of Americans, men, and women,” Kennedy explains.

honorary foundation president caroline kennedy said pelosi is  the most important woman in american political history © press
Honorary Foundation President Caroline Kennedy said Pelosi is 'the most important woman in American political history'

According to Breitbart, the foundation cited Pelosi’s success as the first female House Speaker as well as the first to be elected Speaker to non-consecutive terms in over 60 years along with her thirty years in office.

“Coming from Caroline, that’s an enormous compliment,” Pelosi told CBS Sunday Morning.

“However, going with it are shoulders for other people to stand on.

"I’ve stood on many women’s shoulders, who have paved the way for us.

"And now we have to pave the way for others. So, it’s about the future.”

The Speaker remarked on her tenure, saying, “You have to be ready to take a punch, and you have to be ready to throw a punch.

"I’m in the arena. And I know that when you’re in the arena, this is what you should expect.

"But if you don’t have the courage, don’t get in the arena.”

the award has previously been awarded to former president barack obama © press
The award has previously been awarded to former President Barack Obama

Calling him her “idol,” Pelosi also fondly recalled meeting John F. Kennedy when he was a U.S. Senator from Massachusetts.

“My father was the mayor of Baltimore, and there was a big dinner, black tie dinner,” Pelosi recalled, “where Senator Kennedy was going to speak.

"My mother, she said, ‘If you want to go in my place to the dinner, please do.'”

The honor is named after the 1956 book titled Profiles in Courage, attributed to Sen. John F. Kennedy.

The book was really mostly written by Sen. Ted Sorensen with some assistance by Georgetown Professor Jules Davids, but with Kennedy connections to the tome, it became a hit, even winning the Pulitzer Prize in 1957.

The book follows the trials and tribulations of eight Senators who did what they felt was the right thing despite being politically unpopular.

The award was established in 1989 and has honored an array of politicians including its first honoree, Rep. Carl Elliott, as well as Senators Russ Feingold and John McCain, Presidents Gerald Ford, George H.W. Bush, and Barack Obama, U.N. Chief Kofi Anan, and many others.

Steve Quayle Neon Nettle telegram

Facebook is heavily censoring information from independent sources.

To bypass internet censorship, connect with us directly by enabling our notifications (using the red subscription bell in the bottom right corner) or by subscribing to our free daily newsletter.

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox for free every day by signing up below.


Subscribe to our mailing list

Follow Neon Nettle